VisionTestCost.com is an independent price comparison resource. One labelled affiliate link (VSP individual vision plans) can earn us a commission; it never changes a price. Most US optical chains publish no exam price at all, so a figure here is either a published price or a reported range, and the provider pages say which.

BJ's Optical Eye Exam Cost in 2026: BJ's Publishes No Price

BJ's does not publish an eye exam price, and its own optical terms explain why: “BJ's Optical does not provide eye exams.” An independent eye care practice inside or next to the club does, and it sets its own fee. So there is no BJ's number to quote, and the figures circulating on other sites are not BJ's prices. Below: exactly what BJ's publishes, the four questions to ask the practice, and the published prices worth comparing a quote against.

Checked on BJ's own site, 30 September 2026

We read BJ's optical terms, its optical FAQ and its membership help centre. BJ's publishes eyewear package prices but no exam fee, no contact-lens fitting fee and no dilation fee, and it makes no statement about whether membership is needed for an exam. Every line in the table below links to the BJ's page it came from.

What BJ's publishes

QuestionBJ's answerWhere it says so
Whether BJ's provides the eye examIt does notBJ's optical terms: "BJ's Optical does not provide eye exams. Availability of online eye exam scheduling and days and hours of eye exam services vary by independent eye care practice and location." bjs.com
Who sets the exam feeThe independent practiceBJ's names the independent eye care practice for each club on its own club page, and directs exam questions to it. bjs.com
Whether non-members can use BJ's OpticalYes, for shoppingBJ's FAQ: "Yes, non-members can shop at BJ's Optical, but some offers may be only available to club members." BJ's does not state a position on the exam itself. bjs.com
BJ's Club annual fee$60BJ's help centre, annual fee row. First year is often promotional. bjs.com
BJ's Club+ annual fee$120BJ's help centre, annual fee row. Adds 2% rewards on eligible BJ's purchases. bjs.com
BJ's exam priceNot publishedNo figure for an exam, a contact-lens fitting or dilation appears anywhere on BJ's own optical pages. bjs.com
Whether BJ's provides the eye exam
It does not
BJ's optical terms: "BJ's Optical does not provide eye exams. Availability of online eye exam scheduling and days and hours of eye exam services vary by independent eye care practice and location." bjs.com
Who sets the exam fee
The independent practice
BJ's names the independent eye care practice for each club on its own club page, and directs exam questions to it. bjs.com
Whether non-members can use BJ's Optical
Yes, for shopping
BJ's FAQ: "Yes, non-members can shop at BJ's Optical, but some offers may be only available to club members." BJ's does not state a position on the exam itself. bjs.com
BJ's Club annual fee
$60
BJ's help centre, annual fee row. First year is often promotional. bjs.com
BJ's Club+ annual fee
$120
BJ's help centre, annual fee row. Adds 2% rewards on eligible BJ's purchases. bjs.com
BJ's exam price
Not published
No figure for an exam, a contact-lens fitting or dilation appears anywhere on BJ's own optical pages. bjs.com

What to compare a quote against

Once the practice gives you a figure, you need something real to judge it by. Two published benchmarks are worth knowing, and neither is a guess:

Retail stores that do publish
$95 median

Across 1280 US LensCrafters, Target Optical and Pearle Vision stores that print their own starting exam fee, the median is $95 and the middle half runs $80 to $120. Read from those chains' own store pages, 30 September 2026.

What Medicare pays
$149.64

The CY2026 national amount for a comprehensive exam, new patient (CPT 92004). It is what Medicare pays a practice, not a cash price, but it is the only national published figure for an eye exam that exists.

Both sit in the same band, which is the useful takeaway: a routine exam quote far outside roughly $70 to $150 is worth a second phone call. See the full published-price spread for the chain-by-chain detail.

The membership question, answered honestly

You will find it stated confidently elsewhere that a BJ's membership is required to book an eye exam. BJ's does not say that. What BJ's says is that non-members can shop at BJ's Optical, and that it does not provide the exams. The practice that does provide them sets its own policy, so this is a question for the practice, not for BJ's.

What membership definitely does buy is the club price on the glasses afterwards: $60 a year for BJ's Club, $120 for Club+. If you only want an exam and have no other use for a warehouse club, Walmart Vision Center needs no membership at all, and Costco is the other club worth comparing.

FAQ

How much is an eye exam at BJ's Optical in 2026?

BJ's does not publish an eye exam price, and cannot, because it does not run the exam. BJ's own optical terms state: "BJ's Optical does not provide eye exams. Availability of online eye exam scheduling and days and hours of eye exam services vary by independent eye care practice and location." The independent practice inside or next to your club sets its own fee, so the only way to get the figure is to ask that practice, which BJ's names on its club page. Anyone quoting a single national BJ's exam price is quoting something BJ's has not published. Checked on optical.bjs.com, 30 September 2026.

Do I need a BJ's membership for an eye exam?

BJ's does not publish an answer either way. What it does publish is that non-members can shop at BJ's Optical: "Yes, non-members can shop at BJ's Optical, but some offers may be only available to club members." Since the exam is provided by an independent practice rather than by BJ's, the practice's own policy governs. Ask the practice when you book. Do not assume a membership is required, and do not assume it is not.

How much is a BJ's membership in 2026?

BJ's publishes an annual fee of $60 for BJ's Club and $120 for BJ's Club+, on its own help centre. First-year promotional rates are often lower. These are the fees for shopping the club and buying eyewear; they are separate from whatever the independent practice charges for an exam.

What should I ask when I book at BJ's Optical?

Ask the independent practice four things: the fee for a routine glasses exam without insurance, whether a refraction is included or billed separately, the fee for a contact-lens fitting if you wear lenses, and whether they accept your vision plan. Because the practice sets all four, a quote from one club tells you nothing about the next one.

Does BJ's accept Medicare or FSA and HSA money?

Original Medicare Part B does not cover routine eye exams; many Medicare Advantage plans include a routine vision benefit. Eye exams, glasses and contact lenses are eligible expenses for FSA and HSA money under IRS Publication 502, whoever provides them.

Sources

BJ's quotes and membership fees read on BJ's own pages, 30 September 2026. This page carries no BJ's exam price because BJ's publishes none.

Related guides

CostcoSam's ClubCostco vs Sam's ClubWithout insuranceContact lens exam

Didn't find your answer?

Ask us. A real person reads every question and we answer the ones we can, with sources. If your question would help other readers, we may publish an anonymised version, with your permission. General reference, not medical advice.

[email protected]

Site updated 2026-10-25